I’m Weary of Series and Why I’m Writing One

Browsing through new titles on my Kindle, or even Goodreads, there is an increasing number of Book 1s out there.  I don’t even want to click them.  Why?  I don’t know how many there will be and if I want to commit to read them all.  A story has a beginning, middle and end.  Book 1 tells me there could be no end.  They could be like the endless Babysitter’s Club- 100 ways to watch a child- of my youth.  So why are all fledgling authors writing series?

1). Unknowns and Indie authors have page (file size) limits for Amazon

2). People believe they are too busy to read a 900 page book, but three 300 page books seem doable

3). An author needs several books to generate a following and hooking readers by a series is quicker than several original novels

4). Though it does not apply to me- If you are a fantasy writer and you spend all this time creating an imaginary world, you want to stay in it for a while.  The commitment to the description alone warrants at least three books

So why am I writing a series when I don’t want to read one?  A combination of 1 and 2.  I have 900 eBook pages to tell the MC story.  When breaking it into sections, a trilogy has a nice ring to it.  The beginning, middle and end.  Of course the battle is giving each book its own beginning middle and end.

I need to change my mindset.  I read every book (almost) by writers I enjoy anyway.  Why not start a series?

Leave a Reply

